Women in Maritime Taskforce

Maritime UK has established a Taskforce to address fairness, equality and inclusion within the maritime sector.

The Taskforce brings together leaders from across the maritime sector to identify practical steps to increase the number of women in maritime, and crucially within senior roles across its shipping, ports, marine and business services industries.

Achieving a balanced workforce at all levels in the maritime sector will undoubtedly improve culture, behaviour, outcomes, profitability and productivity.

During London International Shipping Week, then Maritime Minister Rt Hon John Hayes MP called for industry to address gender imbalance in the sector. Government are represented on the Taskforce.

The Taskforce will make a series of recommendations and utilise best practice from other sectors that have taken similar action.

Sue Terpilowski, Chair of the Taskforce, said:

“The need for fairness, equality and inclusion is clearer than ever and the maritime sector must embrace diversity because it’s the right thing to do.

“Equally there is a strong business case for action.

“The OECD has estimated that equalising the role of men and women in the labour market could increase GDP by 10% by 2030.

“There are women of all ages and abilities wanting to be a part of our maritime future and we must make sure we don’t waste any more time in not addressing this issue." 

Page: Get involved

Taskforce members

Sue Terpilowski WISTA UK
Alison Lockyer DfT
Sarah Dhanda British Marine
Elizabeth Paull Aquatec
Karen Waltham HR Consulting, Spinnaker
Iain Mackinnon MSA
Ruth Hodgson Mersey Maritime
Anne-Marie Mountifield Solent LEP
Sarah West ABP
Lucy Armstrong Port of Tyne
Nicky Goldsbrough Shoreham Port
Janet Porter Informa
Justine Brown DP World
Kirsi Tikka American Bureau of Shipping
Nicola d’Hubert Lloyd's Register
Julie Lithgow Institute of Chartered Shipbrokers
Bridget Hogan Nautical Institute
Debbie Cavaldoro Nautilus
Kathy Stanzel Intertanko
Laura Terry Carnival UK
Holly Birkett UK Chamber of Shipping
Nicola Good Lloyd's Register
Helen Kelly Nautilus International
Barbara Buczek Port of Dover
Amanda Willis Peel Ports
Carol Howle BP Shipping
Ewan Shinton UKSA
Andrew Moffat Port of Tyne
Katy Ware MCA
Natalie Desty IMarEST
Sara Walsh British Ports Association
Kathryn Neilson MNTB
Susan Emma Cloggie-Holden RFA